Insubordination

AZBrown

Teamster by choice
I'm in my first year and trying to get the basics of the contract.
We had an insubordination issue come up at work, where a worker was accused of it, and was told by the center manager that he could be terminated for that, but they didn't. They just sent him back to work.
I found in article 28 where the 7 deadly sins are for immediate termination, and insubordination isn't one of them.
Can anyone direct me to the part of the contract that deals with this?

undies

It can be used rather often, "are you going to work as directed or not?". Insubordination is pretty vague in my view and depends on how much the management hates you. I've gone off on some supervisors and they were cool about it, some...not so much, still was never threatened with insubordination.

brown_trousers

Insubordination would be tough to regulate in a contract. And it can really go both ways as to who would benefit from any insubordination rules, if they even exist.

If it was made to be an un-punishable offense, then anyone could just completely disregard supervisor instruction all shift long with no consequences. And if it was allowed as a cardinal sin, it could be used by supervisors to manipulate employees.

104Feeder

Phoenix Feeder
In our District anyway, you have to understand clearly what you are being directed to do and refuse to do it for that to be considered Insubordination. Generally 3 times refusing to specifically "work as directed" is considered Insubordination. However, in my experience this is an empty threat. You can refuse if it's contrary to law or endangers your or the Public's safety, and I have had both of those come up several times over my career with only paper terminations that never made it to Panel & no time or money lost. You don't even have to be ultimately right, just reasonable with your experience and knowledge at the time.