Investing

instantK

I'm new to being a driver, how do you go abouts investing in a 401k at ups? do they match ? should i just talk to other drivers about it?
i already been at ups for 5 years , so i'll get a part time pension plus my full time driving pension?

i want to try to retire as early as possible.. i started at age 22

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
I'm new to being a driver, how do you go abouts investing in a 401k at ups? do they match ? should i just talk to other drivers about it?
i already been at ups for 5 years , so i'll get a part time pension plus my full time driving pension?

i want to try to retire as early as possible.. i started at age 22
Go to UPSers.com and look under retirement options and find the teamsters prudential retirement link for 401k. Go and look around there and start setting up your contributions. Believe it or not, most drivers aren't doing 401k due to the fact they are relying soley on their pension. Ask around and you might find one that will help you sign up and hold you hand through the process.

As far as pensions are concerned they are different for each areas local supplemental. Being as you're a new driver you don't need to worry about pension for a long time, you don't control how it's managed directly. Judging by your post you're now 27 years old. One thing I can tell you if you want to retire early and can take the tax hit, go Roth 401k and max it out. You may not know what I'm talking about, just ask someone who's been doing a 401k that you can spend some time with to explain your options

Benben

Working on a new degree, Masters in BS Detecting!
Start on upsers.com. Follow the links. Set up a % of your gross pay (I promise you,you will NOT miss 6%!!), then choose from the funds where to put the monies. I, myself, absolutely love the REIT fund even with the .1% expense.