Is a Degree worth anything at UPS?

I am new to this forum, and I have only been at UPS for about 7 months. I am currently a part -time loader. I have a bachelor's degree in Communication and I was wandering if there were any chances of advancement based on that. As far as I know, no one at the company has even acknowledged that I have a degree, or seemed interested in the fact. I have been confronted about being a part-time sup, but to my knowledge, that is a route where advancement is a long-shot. Basically, I want to know if my degree can do me any good in this company? Or, should I just keep my loader position, until something else comes along. Jobs are few and far between, especially for someone as young as I am. All I have is this degree and about 8 years in retail. I really like UPS, but I want to advance at some point.

Package_Donkey14

milk was a bad choice
Most upser's have degrees believe it or not. My suggestion to you would be to get out of the Big Brown Machine ASAP. The longer you stay the harder it is to quit. Once you start getting insurance and a pension,quiting isn't a easy thing to do financially speaking. Your degree doesn't do anything for you at UPS. I would think twice about taking the plunge into part time supervision. Unless you like to be screamed at every day.:censored2: rolls down hill at UPS and you would be at the bottom of said hill. Use your talents somewhere were they will be appreciated.

softshoe

I know 3 Drivers with Communication Degrees. They are very satisified being the Delivery Guy. Take a good hard look at this company,before you get all gung ho about advancement.

hellfire

no one considers UPS people."real" Teamsters.-BUG
id say no....it will get you out of the operations level of ups,, but , you will never put up with the stupidity of operations if your intelligent, so moot point

happyboy