Is a part time driver an actual position?

I have some questions. I'm currently FedEx express driver and I've been looking to become a ups driver since the airforce. I'm in contact with a director and manager in my area. The manager is telling me I can get on as a part time driver making 29-30 an hour. Is a part time driver an actual position? Is 29-30$ starting pay true? What would be my average hours a week? What are the pros and cons?

zero

Temporary cover drivers make 85% of what top driver rate. No average hours a week. They use you when they need you. In my center when TCDs dont drive they have to work there primary shift preload or local sort

dookie stain

Cornfed whiteboy
I have been driving full time for almost two years and I make $19.50. Why would there be someone making more than me right off the bat?

zero

Not sure there are TCDs everywhere. Im in the southern region. In my case debating going full time and since im a TCD I will keep my TCD pay throughout progression.

Temporary cover drivers make 85% of what top driver rate. No average hours a week. They use you when they need you. In my center when TCDs dont drive they have to work there primary shift preload or local sort
Are you a part time driver? From what you have seen, what would you say is the average times a week a part time driver actually drives? How long have you seen a part time driver go without driving? Isnt preload or local sort $11.50 an hr? I appreciate all the help. I have a family. So I need to know if this will be a huge pay drop from what im bringing home now.

zero

Yes I am

Depends on your part time senority. We have 8 cover drivers and im second on list, number one guy just drives at peak season. I drive 3-5 days a week. During summer and peak 5 days but every center will be different. Theres lots of people there just for insurance and dont care about driving or going full time.
preload and local sort starts out around 10 or 11

Yes I am