Is he allowed to do this?

poopISbrown

So a while back,at the beginning of September, I asked my shift supervisor if I could have 2 days off a week because I was starting an internship and had no other choice than to take those days off work. I'm a full time college student and really had no other choice, I'm an unloader and our quad always has people being sent home EVERYDAY, so I figured it wouldn't be that big of a deal anyway. A few days later he told me it was ok, but I have to be the best worker in the quad. I always work my ass off when I'm there, I may not be the best, but I always do my job the way its supposed to be done. So last week I was headed to work and my car started smoking, broke down, I was about an hour away so their is absolutely no way I could've made it to work. I called in and let them know I couldn't make it, my car broke down, blah blah blah, mind you I did not just not show up, I let them know I wouldn't be able to come in. A few days ago the same shift supervisor comes up to me and starts telling me my two days off are gone now since I called off. I tell him theres no way I can do it because I already made another commitment to my internship based on the fact he gave me the go-ahead to take those days off, and he then proceeds to threaten to fire me and tells me I should start looking for a new job.

I guess my main question is, is he allowed to just take those days away he already gave me?

poopISbrown

Thanks for the quick reply. Hmm, so I suppose theirs a paper that needs to be signed and he is probably the one that needs to sign it?

DS

Fenderbender
I disagree,talk to HR and tell them about the situation.
If you are a hard worker as you claim,then the only reason they are firing you is that
you are a student trying to get an internship.This was a verbal agreement between you
and the person that ok'd it.Either you are a problem employee or he did not believe your
car smoking story.Be aggressive,call them every day.

DorkHead