Junky pkg. cars

J

Jerry Gallo

It can't be just because a manual pkg. car has been driven into the ground that it has no balls (take off speed), right? I'm a newbie (4-1-13), but 4 up from "bottom bitch" at my center now & always seem to get stuck w/ these while drivers below me get manuals w/ balls. Sure makes it dangerous while having to pull out in front of people to make it to a different part of each days splitty.

1 of these has no rear shocks. Why would anyone even think of making a pkg. car w/ no rear shocks? A few weeks back, the brackets that hold the gas tank on literally fell off. I wonder how long I'd been draggin' that sumbitch. Lucky I discovered it while making a delivery. That was quite an event, 25 miles from the center no less.

MethodsMan

The old manual with almost 300,000 miles that lug like its about to fall apart while your backing up to a loading dock are always fun. Only a waist seat belt is always comforting as well.

Just gotta adapt to those changing conditions though.

J

Jerry Gallo

It was good to go on pre trip, cachsux. Not worried as much about speed bumps as ANY LITTLE bumps.

I've heard from some senior drivers that within 2-3 years, all the manuals will be gone. Not believin' them since our mechanic said a pkg. car has ta go 20 years before they scrap it. I'll admit, I really had little idea how to drive a manual before I started, but now it's so 2nd nature...

J

Jerry Gallo

I guess (w/ the changing conditions)... poopsup. We only have 1 w/ a lap belt only & it's a pretty decent 1 now that they replaced the clutch. Does a lotta bulk stops in our 65,000 pop. town.

iowa boy

Rolled an old p500 over to 1,000,000 miles my first peak. Now that was an old piece of junk.

Of all the older cars in our fleet, we have two that have the original odometers in them. Every other odometer has been replaced as they quit working long long ago, so no telling how many miles are actually on our really old cars.

FilingBluesFL