Knee Problems

I worked as a UPS Driver Helper for about two weeks in the old style truck, and for the first time in my life I'm experiencing a lot of knee pain. It was to the point that I had to take pain relievers throughout the day to keep going. Even my driver noticed that my running turned into a very forced brisk walk. Before this, I was a healthy person who never experienced pain. In fact, I sort of thought people that did were just complainers. Now I know what knee pain is like. Are these problems common among UPS workers?

tarbar66

My comments will be limited to why were you running to start with? Brisk walk is the method. I'll bet that you were jumping out of the car instead of stepping out softly. Some UPS drivers have knee problems but many have bigger problems higher up on their body.

S

splozi

I worked as a UPS Driver Helper for about two weeks in the old style truck, and for the first time in my life I'm experiencing a lot of knee pain. It was to the point that I had to take pain relievers throughout the day to keep going. Even my driver noticed that my running turned into a very forced brisk walk. Before this, I was a healthy person who never experienced pain. In fact, I sort of thought people that did were just complainers. Now I know what knee pain is like. Are these problems common among UPS workers?

Expect a lot of unhelpful comments in this thread.

I experienced the same thing, except my pain occurred three days after helping, not two weeks. Eventually I couldn't even walk briskly, I could only limp slowly.
My guess is that your driver had high expectations of you, and never instructed you on the "methods" and how to work safely. My first driver specifically stated that some safety rules will have to be broken to get things done. He expected me to run, so I ran, until I couldn't anymore. Yours likely did the same I presume? Unless the running was solely your choice.