Laid off Drivers as helpers at $8.50

Brown Rocket

I am a laid off driver and for four and a half months I have patiently waited for the volume to get here and it finally has. Except there is one problem. They've put helpers on to keep the routes and laid off drivers off the road. They pull TP60s out to gated communities and have helpers delver them with a golf cart. To add insult to injury they are offering this work to the last few laid off drivers and want to pay them $8.50. I haven't looked up the language in my contract yet but can someone with a little more time help me out on this (I know i have time to type this but not read). I know the can use helpers in season (Oct - Dec) but is the language so ambigious that they can put helpers on before laid off drivers? I mean ***?

My BA knows and so does the whole south east reagion of the union. They are making plans to fight it but our union is not the quickest to the fight.

Last edited:

rorojo

same thing is happening here. 6 of us are laid of and were ask if we wanted to be helper told them no way. They even trained new drivers.Filed grevaneces and lost. union telling us we can't do any thing until they finish thier 30 day packet.

Brown Rocket

I do it if the jump exceeds 6 hours than I make more money than working my second part time shift because they pay us unskilled on our second shift and I have rather low building seniority.

959Nanook

I've gotten in the habit of lurking but BrownCafe keeps suggesting I should consider posting since it has been so long since I last posted and this topic hit close to home so ....