Layoff then Fired

Char

They laid me off 9/13/08 give or take a day. They said they informed me on 10/03/08 that I was to return the following week. I never got a call or letter. I went out of town from 10/06/08 to 10/10/08 on the 10/09/08 I was home for a my son's baptism then my family left town again from 10/12/08 to 10/21/08. I called and asked if they were going to bring me back anytime soon. They said they had been trying to inform me to come back since 10/03/08. I had no messages on my phone and no letters in the mail. They told me I was terminated as of 10/16/08. My seniority date is 06/99 and I am currently a part time EAM driver.

Is this termination permanent or is there a chance I can be reinstated?

over9five

Staff member
First call your boss and ask what's going on?

Second, call your BA and tell him what's happened. It is my belief you will get this straightened out and get your job back.

All laid off employees here receive letters ,not sure if they call also. Does UPS have all your correct info,address,phone,etc? I would contact the union as well as see if you can get a transcript from the phone company for a record of all incoming calls to prove your case.

tieguy

Banned
They laid me off 9/13/08 give or take a day. They said they informed me on 10/03/08 that I was to return the following week. I never got a call or letter. I went out of town from 10/06/08 to 10/10/08 on the 10/09/08 I was home for a my son's baptism then my family left town again from 10/12/08 to 10/21/08. I called and asked if they were going to bring me back anytime soon. They said they had been trying to inform me to come back since 10/03/08. I had no messages on my phone and no letters in the mail. They told me I was terminated as of 10/16/08. My seniority date is 06/99 and I am currently a part time EAM driver.

Is this termination permanent or is there a chance I can be reinstated?

Atlantic supplement requires recall by certified mail.

drewed

Shankman