LF friendly Steward to answer a question

sciatic

Hello,
I'm a cover driver in a very small center. We only have 1 steward and although hes a cool guy, hes very young ( age and experience ). So i hope someone can answer this 4 me.
Okay... we have one combo guy in our center. He took his vacation last week, and i did his route. I look at my pay check this week and was stunned to see i got paid my pre-load pay for doing his route. I talked to the center manager Friday and he said 'You are only a helper when you do that route, since you are not driving'.
I called my steward about it and he said i should of been paid my cover pay. Now since my cover pay is 14 more dollars an hour ( not including the 6 hours of OT ) ill be happy. But i noticed that helpers get over 2 dollars more an hour in the offseason than my usual cover pay.
So the question is ...where do i stand, what should be my pay-rate? pre-load,cover, off-season helper?
I appreciate any advice, thank you.

DS

Fenderbender
I think your center manager is full of crap.You should get your preload pay while preloading,and driver pay for driving.Your immediate sup should have showed you how to code it properly in the diad to get the higher rate.
Grieve it ASAP.

UPSGUY72

If your driving you should be getting driver pay. You should be getting cover driver rate at where ever your are in your progression.

Antways when you sign on to your DIAD and put your Name and ID# make sure its say D for driver. But as it sounds your PT SUP thinks they know more than they actually do and changed this on you.

See your center manager and have this corrected.

Do you have a UNION BOOK ?? YOu should have gotten a new one last year. If not get one and read it. The more you know the better off your going to be. It won't tell you everything but it will give you a good start.

sciatic