Loaders, Help us out...

srvhero

"leastbest"
Ive been driving now for 20+ years. I am either getting less patient or just more irritable as I age. Almost daily, my loads are pathetic. I even take photos now just to have proof of the horror I face on a regular basis. I KNOW the loaders are stressed and pushed, but many things can be done to help a driver have a better day. I repeatedly (and very politely) ask my loader to please face labels so I can read them. He just doesn't get it. It is as if he makes an effort to do the opposite. The loads are a joke compared to my loads of earlier years. 150lb packages face down in the floor, bulk stops (each box 40lbs) all in the shelf. The loading of OBVIOUS damaged packages. Daily misloads, and seemingly not even making an attempt to place packages in sequence. He is undoubtedly one of the worst loaders I have had. Thank God, they are promoting to part time preload supervisor so he can tell other loaders how to do their job!

Random_Facts

How long has your loader been at UPS? If he's been there for 3 years or less. Just remember he's not making a whole lot of money. Now I'm not sure how many packages he's loading either. Some load 600, and for those people the load quality should be perfect! But then again, some are loading 1100 plus. Those might not be top notch, but they shouldn't be too crazy either. Reality speaking most people could care less, about the loading job. At our hub, the head supervisor will come over and yell out we're done wrap it up. Everything in, Everything put away! Of course we still have an hour flow of boxes coming down. So you put it in the big bulk stop, and then you get the famous "2000, or 3000 shelf boxes" But can't get there anymore because you listened to your supervisor. Therefore you just 'throw it in per-say'. Causing a complete and utter mess.