losing vacation going from pt to ft

scooter4me

I'm a pt cover driver. I am going to full time soon, another driver that just went to full time said you lose your vacations when you go full time. Been pt for 12 yrs, got 3 weeks vac and an option week. Would really suck to go back to zero but I want the guaranteed 40 hrs per week. Gonna talk to the union steward asap just wondered what you guys knew about it.

Jj1213

Need that full time
I'm a pt cover driver. I am going to full time soon, another driver that just went to full time said you lose your vacations when you go full time. Been pt for 12 yrs, got 3 weeks vac and an option week. Would really suck to go back to zero but I want the guaranteed 40 hrs per week. Gonna talk to the union steward asap just wondered what you guys knew about it.
This happened to me you keep your vacations and can take them but you will be paid pt hr for the vacation
Also when trying to make book the union recommends you work your vac until you make book

PT Car Washer

The way I always understood it was you will get paid for your PT vacations this year and earn your FT vacations for next year. Yeah it does suck to being the bottom guy again. You will still keep the number of weeks as that goes by company seniority.

IlllIIllIIlllIllIIIlIlIlI

For us, you get paid all sick/personal/vacations when you go FT, but you are allowed to take your scheduled vacations without pay. Seniority isn't broken for us by going FT. You should check your supplement to see what applies to you.

IlllIIllIIlllIllIIIlIlIlI

Additionally, if you're a PT cover, you will get paid 8 hours at your progression rate for using a sick/personal/vacation day. When you go FT, your remaining days will be paid 3.5 hours at your pt rate.

PT Car Washer