Lost a regular customer today

Richard Harrow

Deplorable.
That is pretty sad. A few months ago, a 30-something year old guy that was a regular in town (he had a different driver everyday, we all knew him, I don't have to explain that to you guys) was shot and killed while he was upstairs in his home by a stray bullet from a gun fight that erupted on his block. He was a very nice man, it was a real waste.

And yes, parts of the town I deliver in are like that.

UPSmeoff

I have had a few good customers die over the years. It's always awkward for a few weeks afterwards dealing with family and coworkers.
There is inevitably a few packages that the deceased had ordered before they died. I always feel like i'm dredging up memories whenever i show up.
I am truly sorry for your loss.

ymelord

It does always suck. I'm a 30 year driver, I know almost everybody in my town, I lose a current or past customer every week, sometimes 2 or 3. It's been great being friends with all the families through the years, but as everybody has gotten older, and are starting to pass, like I said before it sucks. I keep telling myself, the positive of knowing everybody for all these years is worth sadness I feel when they pass. Sorry Dude

iruhnman630

When I watch the news anymore I find myself asking if I know the victims or the locations. More and more the answer is yes.

rod

Retired 22 years
Don't do like I did when I delivered to a house that had a bunch of cars parked outside and ask them if they had a party going on (not knowing that the gentelman had died the night before of a sudden heart attack. In my defense I had just delivered to him the day before and he was joking around with me as he always did. I felt about an inch tall. I never used the "having a party?" line again when delivering to a place with a bunch of cars parked outside.

Thebrownstreak