Making UPS a career?

Lucidd

Hello everyone. I am a 16 year old male, thinking about making UPS my future career. I'm not really big on college, and don't feel like spending another 2-4 years learning something i really just do not want to learn and in lots of student debt. However, i would consider going to a trade school since it's not as long as college and alot cheaper. I was thinking about making UPS a career. I could join right out of high school and what not, and work my way up until I'm a full time driver making $30 or so an hour. Sounds like a good deal to me. I get to drive around delivering packages, all whilst making good money. I hear it takes around five years of working with UPS to become a driver, is this correct? Would i be looked down upon in society if i decided to make UPS a career instead of something fancy like a doctor or some desk job lol? I mean i really don't see the need to go to college when i could make really good money doing a job i like.
I was interested in being an OTR trucker, but figured I'd just go along with UPS and become a feeder driver one day. Seems like a perfect job.

Last edited:

NXA

A full time driver works 12 hour days. (S) he drives the same hundred or so streets every day, stopping around 200 times. He picks the boxes out of his truck, carries them to where they go, records some data, and goes back to the truck, drives to the next stop. About a thousand times a week, fifty weeks a year.

It's a little more interesting than that, but does it sound like "career" material to you?

"About 30 an hour " is only going to be twice minimum wage in a couple years.

Check this dude out. http://www.entrepreneur.com/video/272115

Lucidd