Military leave questions/ please read

JST

I worked for ups for 5 years as a part-time unload/belt supervisor when I decided I wanted to do what I always have wanted to do which was join the military. So I went on military leave. However before I left for the service I had already had qualified on the test portion, had my panel meeting, and drove seasonal. I had completed all requirements to become fulltime. When I drove truck I had pretty good package/ drop to time ratios. During the time I was part-time I earned a bachelors degree in business and had high qpr ratings. I waited for two years for a promotion and received nothing. However when I joined the military three people have been promoted. 1 with less experience and less time as a supervisor and 2 with equal time and experience. Now after all that said, I am thinking about coming off military leave next year and I am wondering what my chances are with coming back as a full- time supervisor? Under the Userra rights I believe I am entitled to come back to a position I would have obtained if I wouldnt have left. Would this apply to me? I want to come back but now married with a child I couldnt live off of a part time job. Because i keep my time in service i would come back with total 8 senority. Any ideas on this anyone? Please be respectful when replying! Thank you

over9five

Staff member
JST, sorry I can't answer your questions, but I'd like to thank you for your service and welcome you to Brown Cafe.

Jones

fILE A GRIEVE!
Staff member
I think your best bet is first to get in contact with UPS and see what they say, and then double check it with a military lawyer who has experience with USERRA cases. I'm guessing that the hurdle will be showing that would have been guaranteed to have been promoted to full time had you not gone on military leave.

UPSGUY72