Must be a "good" Driver in order to be a "good" Supervisor

Catatonic

Nine Lives
Re: Reasons a driver would want to go into Management

In my center, the reason drivers go into management is because they were piss poor drivers and could not hack it at the driver position. And later tell you, "When I was a driver...." Failing to mention it was for a mere 90 days and they were sent out with half routes because they couldn't handle a full day.

I'm sure that happens occasionally.
A person could be a very good management candidate and not that good a driver.
We all know that being a scratch UPS driver requires a certain set of skills and discipline. That same set of skills are not the same set of skills needed to be a good management person.
I remember back in the 70's and 80's when the thought was that a driver that was a humper would make a good supervisor. Wound up with a lot of suboptimal management people before we figured out that was not true.

You hear the same thing from supervisors saying the ones that get promoted to manager were not the best supervisor. Same logic applies.
And managers complain that the ones that get promoted to Division manager were not the best center managers.
And so on and so on.
I imagine there were some on the management committee that thought Scott Davis was not the best one to be promoted to CEO.

wornoutupser

My supervisor misdelivered a next day air his last day onroad. I had to pick it up the next day and redeliver it to the correct address. Guess what kind of supervisor he turned out to be?

bumped

Quite a few of full time sups and even a center manager were drivers that had gotten hurt. They may not all have been reported injuries, but they had bad backs and bad shoulders...But, if you use the methods...

Babagounj

Strength through joy
Hoaxster it is so true.

There is a lot of distrust within our mgt "team ".
The hard workers are always passed over, while someone junior gets promoted.

Brown287

Im not the Mail Man!