need an answer.

542thruNthru

sorry to ask this i would normally be able to answer it myself but i don't have my book with me. I am a full-time driver and have worked all week. Can they force me to come in saturday? also I was just told this at 12:18pm.

Just a little background im in California. I dont know if its different in other areas.

oldngray

nowhere special
If you have enough hours available they can force you to work Sat (force from the bottom seniority up). If you are high seniority or almost up to 60 hours then you wouldn't work but low seniority with hours available you will probably have to work.

542thruNthru

thanks for the reply. I thought I read a few years back that they have to give you 48 hours notice. I don't mind the work but I have a personal thing I had to deal with saturday. I wonder what kind of action they could take if I some how took sick. also can i demand 8 hours?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

thanks for the reply. I thought I read a few years back that they have to give you 48 hours notice. I don't mind the work but I have a personal thing I had to deal with saturday. I wonder what kind of action they could take if I some how took sick. also can i demand 8 hours?

On the one hand you are wondering if you can fake an illness to get out of work and on the other you are asking for your daily guarantee.

We are supposed to be given 3 days notice on a start time change of one hour or greater.

This is Peak----it sounds to me like your mgt team didn't get the word until this morning hence the short notice.

PT Car Washer

We had a driver that took last Friday off because of a personal issue. Be upfront with your management team and give them a chance to do the right thing. If that doesn't work take it to your Business Agent. Better be something real important.

BakerMayfield2018

Fight the power.