Need some advice

Kathy B

I am a 30 year old woman from Illinois and I am looking at joining UPS as a package delivery driver. A friend of the family who has been with the company told me about the job and he said I would be a good fit. He drives the trucks. I do not have any experience driving those kinds of vehicles but I am very interested and I have several years of experience loading and moving heavy boxes. I love physical jobs. The problem is that the locations in Illinois are hiring for full time seasonal drivers. My friend told me that if I work hard they would most likely hire me permanently because I have the added bonus that I am a woman amongst men. What do you guys think? Is it hard to learn how to drive the package delivery trucks? Right now I am working at a company making $45,000 a year and I want a change.

I can tell you the North Illinois District is hiring 400+ package car drivers as we've been told at several meetings. The biggest trick as far as the vehicle would be knowing how to drive a stick shift.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
I can tell you southern Illinois is also hiring a lot and they can't find part timers to fill the positions. Your chances of getting in off the street are as good as they have been in a very long time.

The Driver

I drive.