New Driver, which center would you pick?

BrownThunder

Good morning BC world,

I am starting my 30 day training tomorrow and I'm not sure which center I should pick. I work in a 3 center hub, one of the centers I for sure don't want.

One center is for a city I live in ( city x ) and am familiar with, the other is a city I'm far less familiar with (city y ). Everyone tells me city Y is a much more exciting area than city x. I was a driver helper in city y and we ran into news people, a popular sports journalist, a few athletes and saw tons of um..... Talent.... Walking around.

Kind of a silly question, but if you were me would you pick a city you know better or pick the city where you can see more?

Also, after I finish my 30 days am I pretty much married to that center or can I switch after?

sailfish

Master of Karate and Friendship for Everyone
Tough call. I'm fortunate that I deliver in an area I neither live in nor visit for any other reasons. The whole town in a way is my work, and I feel like I'd get tired of seeing it if I lived there or went there for fun.

In you're case though, I'd take city Y. Might make the day more exciting and it's nice to not associate where you live with work when you come home after being out thirteen hours.

rkctkc

Here in the southern supplement, in a multicenter hub, you choose which center you want considering they have an opening. You may be waiting a while. We have a driver who was assigned to a certain center when he started, and then after almost a year he wasn't getting to work, laid off alot, and starting filing grievances about not getting to choose his center. He won and got to move. They are going to try to put you where you are needed, but you do have a choice. You just may lose alot of seniority while you wait for the center you want.

BrownThunder