New Procedures for Inspection of Nicad Batterys

oreana123

I have some experience with Nicad battery overhaul, ran the shop for a previous airline. Nicads were pulled on a routine basis during a 4 part progressive inspection program. Using the Saft manual as a reference, the point of inspection for fluid level was at the very end of the charging cycle. Once that was accomplished, the cell caps were installed, an airworthiness tag was originated, the battery was closed up, and there was no reason for any other maintenance inspection.
Now there is a battery inspection procedure that AMTs are supposed to follow prior to installation of Nicads in our aircraft. This inspection involves opening each cell and verifying the presence of electrolyte and resealing each cell. WTF? This is a recipe for contamination of the nicad cells, and what can be determined about electrolyte level when the batterys are at room temp and static? I'd like to know who is responsible for this stupid requirement and what were they thinking?:angry:

Wiggy

I have some experience with Nicad battery overhaul, ran the shop for a previous airline. Nicads were pulled on a routine basis during a 4 part progressive inspection program. Using the Saft manual as a reference, the point of inspection for fluid level was at the very end of the charging cycle. Once that was accomplished, the cell caps were installed, an airworthiness tag was originated, the battery was closed up, and there was no reason for any other maintenance inspection.