New Road Driver

upsfright

Hi, I am new to ups freight. I just started 3 days ago! I'm working out of the northeastern Maryland area. I was hired as a extra board driver. They gave me like 2 days training, just showed me a bunch of video, road tested me, forklift certify me, let me use the jock truck a few hours and signed a bunch of paper work! and sent me out with a driver for one night who really didn't show me much! I don't like that (ups) did not spend much time training me but they really worried about safety alot but never showed me how to use the time clock at all. how to clock in, how to dispatch, how to chance from one job to another like drop and hook or dock work or any of the other thing. or when i get to my destination how to clock in (arrival). then change duty statics. if anyone can help would appreciated? :anxious: lost

M

Mike23

Welcome to UPS! You got forklift certified...geez, you've already one uped a lot of people there I think :D

Memorize the little plastic card they gave you on 10 point commentary, lifting and lowering and five seeing habits. As long as you follow those they're USUALLY happy...ok, usually don't yell as much as they usually do. I think most people got the same amount of training or less.

kelsokid18

UPGF Grunt
What plastic card?

When I started last month, my hiring group spent officially about 1.5 days in training, and spent the rest of that second day cleaning up the dock (sweeping),

In that 1.5 days, we watched about 7 videos, got forklift certified, did Lockout/Tagout certification, did Hazmat, and thats about it. Had to punch in on paper time clock cards until they got their crap together enough to issue us cards for the computer, then we had to learn from the other guys how to clock in and out.

slaveof18wheels