Night Shift & Family Life Balance - Need Some Advice

T-Dubya

Hey all,
I am a new PT loader in Central OH but I was a full time mechanic before joining UPS. I might have a shot at being hired as a mechanic with UPS, and I would like to stay with UPS for the long term. I spoke with an assistant fleet manager in Columbus and he told me to fill out an application online. If I were to be hired as a mechanic I would be on night shift for at least the next ten years.
- Whether you are a mechanic or not, do any of you have some advice on getting enough sleep with little kids in the house and a spouse who is working first shift hours full time? My wife usually works 7AM-4PM, I have a one year old son, and will have more kids in the future. If hired as a mechanic at UPS, I was told I would work 7PM-3:30AM. I think my daily routine would be the following: after arriving home from work at 4:30AM, I'll help get my baby boy ready for my wife to take him to the babysitter at 6AM, then I try to sleep from 6AM-2PM, wake up and go pick up my son from the babysitter, spend quality time with my son, make dinner and leave for work at 6PM.
- How did all of you manage your daily schedule with babies/young kids when you were on night shift?
- Did you miss a lot of teachable moments or good times with your family while working night shift & sleeping during daylight hours?
- Did you have a lot of trouble falling asleep with little kids on a different sleeping pattern than you?
- All of you who worked nights: would you do it again while raising young kids?
- Is the job, benefits & pension worth it to you to work night shift 10-15 years?
- How did you manage sleeping regularly during daylight hours? Thick, dark curtains?

I think once I gained seniority after ten years it would be worth it. But I want to hear what others think.

HEFFERNAN

Huge Member
You find a routine and stick with it.
There is no magic formula to lifestyle changes.
The first two weeks are the hardest then it gets easier.