Is no hire back status permenant

• no

Votes: 3 15.0%
  • yes

Votes: 17 85.0%

• Total voters

Shannon78

I worked as a Custom Broker at the UPS Brokerage operation from 1998 until I returned to full-time studies in 2008. During my 10 years at UPS I successfully obtained a Canadian Society of Certified Customer Broker designation and was advanced to a senior department, had no disciplinary issues and had perfect attendance.

After some time I decided at the time for personal enrichment to pursue education in a field that was a passion of mine being graphics and photography so as a result I went to college full time and reluctantly at the time had to suspend my career at UPS, later after my course I found some employment in my field however it was not stable but contract jobs which ended.
Recently I entered the job market again for a career path with more stability which suited me like I had with UPS and noticed on the Canada Job bank UPS was looking to hire in various position here where I live. I did apply online and have been doing so on a continuous routine bases as they are always posting these positions. After not hearing back I decided to visit UPS office I worked at. I did speak to the head of the HR department and was told bluntly there is no way I can come back and simply forget about it “they don't want people coming back”. I was frustrated and think this is somewhat of an unfair practice for the reason they are having issues finding quality people and constantly posting jobs. And I was a quality employee with perfect attendance and 10 years of service who left at the time for school on good terms.