NO MORE MR. NICE CHRIS THE BROWN

ChrisTheBrown

This morning, I almost lost it. I'm used to getting jerked around with driving from time to time, as I'm a newer cover driver & just qualified in the summer..Today, however, I had to call my union rep & then say something to my supervisor's face. First, I get a text saying
"Your area was cut today because only half our expected work showed due to weather. See you tomorrow"
I was fine with having a day off & not fighting the crappy weather for a day, so I was thinking to myself ok no big deal.
20 mins later, he texts me again saying
"I will need you to shuttle air, will let you know start time, my guess is around 930"
So, I didn't really mind that either, knowing it was only gonna be around 3 hours of work.
Then he calls me 20 mins later..Saying that a driver was having some problems at home with his dogs, so he was gonna have me run that route instead, & told me to be at the center by 8:45am..It was about 8:10am when he called me. I immediately got ready, threw my boots on & took off. Halfway to the center, he calls me again..."Mick is coming in, so just gonna have you shuttle air at 9:30, feel free to relax for a bit." Told him I was already on my way, working as directed. I then called my union rep, explained the whole situation & what happened. My main concern was the fact that I had more seniority then this Mick guy, knew the route very well, & that I should've been driving anyways...He should've been the one shuttling the air for a few hours, myself getting the full days work. Apparently seniority means nothing some days, because nothing got done. Supervisor was clearly upset that I got my union rep involved, but I just feel that I need to stick up for myself some times. I'm tired of getting used & abused. I imagine that most drivers go through this in the beginning, I was very upset & can't remember the last time feeling so disrespected.

Sent using BrownCafe App

carol2014