Our Saturdays now belong to UPS

iruhnman630

It looks like our Saturdays are officially fair game.

One of the benefits of the job is the five day work week. Monday through Friday, we give our days and most of our evenings to UPS, but the weekends have always belonged to us.

Until today.

I was informed this morning that for the week ending February 13, aka valentines Saturday, myself and the 3 other bottom seniority drivers in our center will be working a Tues through Saturday week, so that we may cover the valentines flower rush on Saturday without being paid overtime for going over 40 hours.

This is a new low, as now it seems UPS can intrude on our weekends as well as our evenings.

I have been a driver for nearly 15 years, part-time and full-time. Using full-time drivers to help out on a Saturday is nothing new. But the full-timers have always signed up by seniority, and with the exception of a Christmas Eve Saturday, I have never seen a full-timer forced to work a Saturday.

I find it hard to believe that this is contractual, but according to both my center management and our alternate union steward, this appears to be contractual.

We’ve lost the ability to make Saturday plans without concern over UPS deciding we need to give that time to them.

over9five

Staff member
1. I would ask higher seniority drivers who want the OT to grieve this. I do believe the contract allows drivers hired after a certain date to be forced to a Tues thru Sat schedule, but I don't believe this was intended to be used for a one-time random holiday.

2. How's your sick time? Maybe you 3 should bang in on the Saturday.

iruhnman630

I'm concerned about where this will lead. A new precedent has been set for our center.