Package Car Mechanical Questions

Looking to find out what I can about the package cars used. I've been a mechanic for about 25 yrs & working on becoming one with UPS. My background is from the automotive & lg. truck field. During this time, I've worked on all types of diesel/gas engines & their associated problems. Just haven't worked on package cars. What are the most common problems you mechanics find with them? What engines are used? Are you doing more PM work than large mechanical work? Just trying to figure out what I'm getting into if hired. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

browntruckmechanic

Well isn't that special ?????????
The major engines in use are the T444, or more commonly know as the 7.3 powerstroke, the MB 904, ISB, ISB 07, ISB 10, CHEVY 4.8, 6.0. The old 7.3 from internaional. Cummins 6BT. Chevy 4.3. The work depends on your fleet. Mngt will push for PMI's and LOF's. You will have to work nights for atleast 10-15 yrs.

Big Babooba

You must be proficient in the application of duct tape and posses wire coat hanger bending skills. You also must be able to use mechanic's lingo such as "Part on order" and "Scheduled for repair". You will also get a bonus for each vehicle parked on Red Tag Row.

dragracer66

What building are you being hired at? Clutch and brakes are the most common repairs. Like brown said earlier get use to nights at least 10-15 years. Also are you going to be a teamster or in the IAM? There a big difference in pensions thats why I ask hopefully you'll be in the IAM. Good Luck!!!

rod

Retired 22 years