Part Time Supervisor Questions

Hello,

I have been working at UPS for almost 4 months now, I am 20 years old and I am still going to school. Today my supervisor asked me if I am interested in becoming a part time supervisor. I am new here and want to hear all of your opinions. They told me that there is more of a growing opportunity for a career if I become a supervisor than if I stay loading, and this is what I don't understand. Im new and I don't know much, but it seems to me like the only way to go if i stay working at the hub is to become a driver, and honestly I don't want to be a driver for the rest of my life. Can you guys tell me some other ways I would be able to grow within the company? Is there something I can do after driving? Or is there a different direction I can go in?

My plan, or what I was thinking, was to become a part time supervisor and keep going to school for my engineering degree. But a lot of the posts here make it seem like becoming a part time supervisor is a terrible choice. I have seen 2 part time supervisors become full time since I have been working here, and it doesn't seem like a bad idea to me. But thats why I came here, and that's why I am asking you guys.

Thank you in advance! :happy2:

PastorBoB

Go Sup, at the very least, it is a quicker pay bump and it's a resume builder.

Long term aspirations with UPS? Well you know what they say, once you go PT Sup you never go anywhere else.

Your other choice would be to look into budding up to HR and seeing what openings are available to college graduates and find some way that route. HR holds the keys to all the good stuff at UPS. Unfortunately, once your in a spot, you stay in that spot.

Catatonic

Nine Lives
There is no career at UPS as a Union employee.
There are hard manual jobs that pay well due to the sacrifice of your body ( and mind as you've seen on here) and an expectation pushing yourself to extreme productivity.