Part time supervisor

So, I've been working at UPS for about 4-5 months now, I am an unloader. A pretty good one. I cause chaos for the sorters, so yesterday I was asked if i wanted to be a supervisor? They keep asking me over and over again that I am beginning to consider it. I heard a lot of bad things about being a supervisor. I know there's extra cash involved but the job can be extremely stressful. Is it worth it?

stoni24

Everyone here is gonna say "no don't do it. It's a terrible dead end job." But those same people were hired in on an earlier contract not this one. They didn't have to wait 1 year for healthcare, 18 months for family coverage, no paid holidays 1st year, laughable .50 cent per year raises for 3 consecutive years, constant layoffs and so on...I almost fell for the pt sup gig. Glad now I didn't, but the first 4 years are terrible for a pt hourly now days......peace

ibleedbrown

if you're 21 years old, and do not have a chance to go driving or don't want to, i say go for the supervising position. you will automatically double your salary. if you are good at it and they like you you will have a chance to be a full time supervisor at a relatively young age. if you do not plan on sticking around that long, being a pt sup at ups will give you very good experience in management and look good on your resume when looking for another job. you will have to put up w a lot of stress and b.s. from upper management but you will be doing a minimum amount of physical labor compared to a union worker.

rudy5150

Part time sups are the worst jobs at UPS. They dont make anything work quite abit of hours and get yelled at by upper managment, on car sups, and teamsters!

Boysie8706

I'm a pt sup, If I could i would go back and not be a pt sup. There are way better opportunities down the road if you remain in the union. (Different job opportunities that you can actually bid on)

lateagain