Part-time Union Steward

Dnking

FireFalcon
Just got voted in to be the new Part-time Union Steward. Pretty excited! Been with the company 12 years, so i have a little experience. But always looking for some words of wisdom since im new to this. Any good advice?

UnconTROLLed

perfection
Give an inch, they take a mile. In other words, make sure you enforce the contract every time, from the beginning so there is no "play" on the companies part to get away with whatever they can.

We have one steward who just does not do the right thing. This steward never files on supervisors working (right in front of them) and makes a lot of deals. This is exactly the type of steward that no one wants to deal with, company aside.

menotyou

bella amicizia
Memorize the contract. Don't accept any Jimmy Dean Sandwiches from a supervisor(inside joke). Don't think your sups are friends. They are bosses with agenda's.

Dnking

FireFalcon
Great advice guys. Your both right. Deals are made all the time. The center I work in, we only have 9 preloaders including myself. The Union Steward i replaced has done the job for some time(10 yrs or so). He never really said anything unless something affected him personally. So im, pretty excited to look out for my fellow workers and try to set a good example..

2Slow

Expect the bosses to get nasty when you stand up to them. Get in the habit (hopefully you are already) of following all the rules to the letter everytime.

Unfortunately, sometimes the bad stewards aren't bad and selfish guys, sometimes the company has just got them beaten.

It's a tough job, but someone has to do it. Good luck!

washington57

The union has tried to push me into being a shop steward but it isn't worth it. Not paying dues isn't worth fighting the company on BS where the union guy is dirty so often.