Pension Discrepancy across country

Wally

BrownCafe Innovator & King of Puns
Why is there such a big pension discrepancy? Upstate NY $5500 a month, NJ-$3700, Washington-6K, etc.

​That's some big differences?

Maybe because most (all?) pensions are administered by the locals.

Ours is in the tank..Piss poor management of the fund! No fill time jobs in over five years here! Many guys retired but no fulltime slots ever filled. Thats why we are voting no on this contract! If you think we want teamcare after the way our pension fund looks?? No way inHELL!

Johney

I also remember UpstateNYUPSER(Dave) saying that they put their raises towards their pension fund or something like that. I assume that could change their payout.

jumpman23

Oh Yeah
I agree totally. If drivers make the same hourly rate mostly across the board why shouldn't the pensions match the same criteria. Im not saying im an expert on the subject whats so ever, just my honest opinion. Lets be real guys we all drink out of the same cup if you know what im saying.

Inthegame

Unfortunately poopsup is correct .

If your local failed to bargain for improvements to your local pensions funds , then all the fault lies with them .
Now we have two administrators chiming in. Lots of factors determine benefit levels. Does your local administer H&W and Pension? Are the Trustees empowered to allocate contributions between Funds? If so is your H&W coverage superior thereby reducing allocations to Pension? Is there a retiree component built in funding to cover H&W post Medicare for pensioners? Does your plan allow the ridiculously expensive early outs? How about disability pensions? Are you green zone? Has your Pension taken Funding relief (after the debacle of 2008) under the PPA, thereby curtailing ability to improve benefits? And on, and on....
But instead just ignore all the pertinent issues and focus on the easy blame game...weak locals.

Inthegame