Plant Engineering

drewed

Shankman
Ive heard about it once when I first started they wanted to combine it with IE but i havent heard anything about it since

upsgrunt

Do we really need PE? Does it make us any money? I'm no expert, but does it take a rocket scientist to make those decisions?

negrosangre

Oh, I guess any support function could be outsourced, and I would think all of them have been looked at for outsourcing. Just like the core functions, there is always someone out there willing to do the job cheaper, but the question that needs to be considered is, can that outside party do it as well, and with the same commitment to excellence.

We've had outside plant eng for years at our center without much apparent problem. Our fleet mechanics take core of emergency matters, but the things that can wait are all outside sources.

Do we really need PE? Does it make us any money? I'm no expert, but does it take a rocket scientist to make those decisions?

i have seen those guys just change light bulbs.. lol.
In our center the fleet mechanics delt with issues before they hired like three, and even that.. most skilled work is done by out source.

brownrodster

Are PE the guys who come in during the day and fix the belt and rollers and build extra sets of rollers for peak ?? Those guys in our center are all outside contractors and not UPS employees.

Channahon

PE keeps the buildings running, and are needed in large hubs, as they do preventative work as well. They are also responsible for all building projectss for the district, so they do in some cases cover a few districts.

And PE currently falls under the IE function, along with Automotive, which eliminated Distict level Staff Managers, at a cost savings to UPS.