Please Help me guys!

Favre49

Ive been driving for 4 years now, they did a 3 day lock in with me this past week. They have not time studied these routes in years im normally 2 hours over everyday. So the first day they road with me i did methods all day yea i messed up on some, but for the most part did ok (still went over 2 1/2 hours). Next day im in the office with the road sup and center manager said i was overlooking packages in the truck to work slower threating my job and so forth. I have Dyslexia a learning disability do not comprehend as fast as others should i file on this as being picked on and humiliatied???? thank you

illinois

As a former manager and UPSer for 27 years I can tell you it doesn't hurt to file, however be prepared for some unfavorable reciprocation from your current center management team. If you follow the methods and you are two hours over you have nothing to worry about. Not sure about your disability. If UPS can prove your disability makes it unsafe for you to operate the vehicle it can be trouble. Otherwise I dont think it will help you or hurt you to bring it up.

JonFrum

Favre49,

Get your Dyslexia throughly diagnosed and documented on paper by your doctor.

File a grievance to invoke this clause in the Contract:
ARTICLE 14. COMPENSATION CLAIMS
Section 3. Permanently Disabled Employees

The Parties agree to abide by the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act. The Company shall be required to negotiate with the Local Union prior to providing a reasonable accommodation to a qualified bargaining unit employee.