position changes

hello i am new to ups, i go to school the first week of july for package car driver. the HR person mentioned when they had me in filling out all the paper work that if i wasn't always driving that they may want me to come in and load and unload trucks for a lesser rate. is this a common practice, hire you for one job but start insinuating you may be ask to do anouther at a lesser pay rate sometimes?

Last edited:

PT Car Washer

You should be working solid (except for a Monday here and there) all year with vacations and who knows what else. You will appreciate having a Monday off to get things done you can't do during the week. After about February with no vacations you may be working inside for a couple months until vacations kick in again. Or drivers may take time off and you will being working all the time.

thank you for taking the time to answer my newbie question. i currently am a owner/operator distributor for anouther company (till i go to ups in july) and over the years they have become very very very sly or sneaky to border line dishonest with us distributors and i was hoping that this dosen't turn into that. i know there are going to be times when you disagree with management but i have real issues with dishonesty. so far ups management seems pretty straight forward but the loading thing seemed they tried to slide that in there.

728ups

All Trash No Trailer
[quote="Driver2552, post: 1336283, member: 53487"
]
rofl.gif

so far ups management seems pretty straight forward but the loading thing seemed they tried to slide that in there.[/quote]
rofl.gif

PT Car Washer

No they don't try and sneak that in. It is there to give you your 40 hours during a slow time. Some new drivers never work inside during their first couple years. Some maybe for a week here and there during Feb. and March, April, but then vacations start up and you can't get a day off. Of course this is dependent on the economy staying healthy.

UPSGUY72