Preloader being harassed by management.

Fl1pz

Hey, I'm new here and I've been working preload for about 2 months now. My center has had me jumping from various positions like dumping small sort bangs, unloading trailers, sorting the belt, and loading package cars. For the past 3 weeks I have been spending all my time loading package cars and it just really blows at my center, we're always short handed since we have two people out with injuries.

Anyway, last friday they gave us a late start (4:00 A.M) expecting a light day but instead we show up and have 10 trailers to unload. I go to my 4 trucks and begin work as normal, up until break the day is going fine...I'm loading at a good pace my trucks look neat and I don't have packages stacked outside of them. I don't know what happened after break but the rate at which packages were coming down the belt nearly doubled and I had to stack out the back of my cars just to prevent packages from slipping by me, and we already had buildup toward the end of the belt.

We finish running product as the drivers do their PCM and I begin wrapping up my trucks as fast as I can. There are still other sets of cars in the building waiting to leave but the center manager comes to my cars and singles me out for being slow. It was disrespectful and very humiliating to be reprimanded in front of my peers like that. This isn't the first time he has said something to me either, but he said that if I didn't improve my speed by the end of this week that he wouldn't be able to keep me.

What the hell do I do about this? My misloads are always down, I'm really good at that and when I do finish loading my cars always look clean and my drivers are pleased but it seems like management only cares about speed. Is my job in jeopardy or is he just blowing smoke up my ass?

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n