Prospective UPS Auto Mechanic Questions

ClaytonBlunt

Few questions here. I will be separating from active duty soon. I have been a mechanic on everything from sedans to heavy trucks for a few years now. I want to go work for UPS for many reasons, but would like to stay somewhere decently warm or the northwest. My questions are:

What is the pay?

Is the shift listed online usually accurate?

Is the sunrise shift actually 6a-12p or is it longer?

How do you like working for UPS?

What is some advice you would give someone trying to become a UPS automotive mechanic?

trickpony1

EDIT:
Usually only high seniority mechanics get the day jobs.
If hired, you can count on working nights for a while.

Not sure where you got "6am to 12pm".

trickpony1

Another edit:
If there is a large Air Force base or other military base in your area, you might be better off applying there and using your 5 point Veterans preference.

You need to do this soon after separation as there is a window of time allowed.

Good luck.

trickpony1

I'm guessing the OP has a pristine, virgin and glossy view of UPS and can hear the angels chorus every time he sees a pkg car.

This isn't, necessarily, reality.

I work at a large hub. I know:
3 mechanics that got fired;
2 quit and;
the remaining ones get ragged on all the time.

I suggest the OP contact his Resource Officer/department (the people who assist outgoing members) and ask about testing for his desired trade and relocation options.

Try working as a civilian on a military base first. You can always apply at UPS later.

Time is of the essence.

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n