PT Sups and Degrees

Rubber Puckies

How many PT sups are going for their degree? I've heard so many times that PT sups go nowhere within UPS and it's a horrible decision. My question is why? Do most PT sups have their degree and if not, is that what is preventing them from advancing? I'm currently going to school and this job fits perfect with my class schedule. I'm hoping that when I have my bachelors in two years I'll be able to get a full time position. If not, I'll go elsewhere as I won't wait for UPS.

Anyways, I guess I'm just wondering where the "PT sup is a dead end career" mentality came from.

RP

Gazelle

Race me!
In my building you have to be a friend of our HR manager to get promoted. You'll understand when you interview for FT positions and the least qualified guy gets it. Having a degree will get you a better job outside of UPS.

bagpipes

The biggest point of difference between UPS mgmt and similar external jobs nowadays is job security. Photog is right, but generally this job is secure (more or less depending on business unit, function, specific skills and connections/CYA) as long as you don't commit a cardinal sin.

Many other companies can't say the same.

Sent using BrownCafe App

bagpipes

P-man made an earlier post about the changes over time in the incentives for going into management from both the company level and employee perspective...