Question about taking a UPS Freight job at Cleveland, OH terminal

tbono

I am currently a 7-Up driver and part of the Teamsters. I was just offered a dock worker/driver position with UPS Freight in Cleveland. I don't think this particular terminal is union, is it?? I've been looking for a better driving position because during the winter, my hours at 7-UP are consistently cut due to lack of loads and now I'm on layoff for a month of so. When I interviewed with UPS Freight for this position, I was told that I consistently have at least 40 hours a week all year long. I get an hourly wage for the days I do dock work and then when I drive, the pay isn't hourly, but based on the miles I drive, the # of stops, the # of cases I handle, etc. All of the "wage" postings I've read on this board seem to talk about hourly rates for drivers. Does anyone know anything about THIS type of earnings at UPS Freight? One drawback to taking this job is that their contract is up for re-bidding in June of this year and there's always the possibility they won't get it. They told me they're pretty confident they'll get it, but if not, everyone working there would be out of a job. The second drawback is that I won't be driving full-time. I'd have to wait for a driver opening and then I'd be next in line to get it. I'm seriously considering taking this position, as the earning potential is much better than at 7-Up and I know you sometimes have to take risks to get ahead, but it's just a scary thought - as I have a wife and 4 kids to support.

I've also read something about "satellite" carriers for UPS -- not exactly sure what this is or if the Cleveland terminal is one of these??

Can anyone provide any guidance? I'd really appreciate any information that may help me make a decision? Thanks!

I would advise you to think this out long and hard before giving up your current job.