Question for the more experienced couriers out there

FedexCares

Hello guys, I am fairly new to driving at Fedex, and I am wondering if I should be putting up with the situation I am currently in at my station.

Basically, I work at a fairly large station (I am guessing 150 total employees), and we currently have 50+ open positions, and I would estimate 40 of those are for couriers. Needless to say we are hurting when it comes to staffing and have been for awhile.

I am a full-time courier myself (non swing), and do have my own route, working tuesday-saturday. My route does get collapsed on mondays, so my route currently doesnt exist on mondays at all. The issue is since we are so understaffed I am having to come in three mondays a month (my day off) and being basically forced to run a completely different route from start to finish. Now, I am not a swing driver, so personally I don't think I should be required to be running other people's routes like this. I have expressed to management to possibly give me stops off people to help, or have me do FO or something, and that I don't feel I should be doing entire routes when I'm not getting paid as a swing driver. They basically said we need people badly and have open routes so suck it up.

My question is are other people in a situation similar to this? Is this just standard operating procedure and should I just deal with it? Should I go to HR with this, or do you feel that would even do anything? I guess I am just looking for clarification whether managers can actually force non swing drivers to do other people's routes. If they can, well I guess I will just have to suck it up. Need advice, thanks.

dezguy

Two words, operational needs. Basically, they can do whatever they want because we don't have any union protection. There have been times I have been forced to work in another station because they were short staffed. You can complain about it but nothing will be done.