Quitting, Need Advice ASAP!

Stavemist316

Hello fellow UPSers,

I've been at UPS for close to 3 years now working as an unloader and my time has finally come. I graduated last December with a degree in IT, and after countless interviews I was finally offered a job early this morning. (Great way to end my 2 week vacation I just had :D)

I need some advice on how to go about handing in my 2 week notice. One problem though... They really want me to start next Monday. So how should I go about handing in my 1 week notice? Seeing as how they send people home early every night(night sort) anyways, I don't see it being much of a problem only giving them a 1 week notice.

What's the proper way of doing this at UPS? Should I write up a small 1 week notice letter, or should I just go up to my full-time Supervisor and let her know that I got a new job and they want me to start on Monday? Do I just need to tell my full-time Super or should I go up to HR and tell them as well?

Thanks in advance.

Steve

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

The courteous thing to do would have been to notify your mgt team as soon as you knew you had the new job. At this point I would go in early for your next shift and let your supervisor know what's going on. You will receive any money due to you in the paycheck the week after your last day. Good luck.

Stavemist316

Thanks for the quick reply. Well I just found out I got the job a few hours ago... I don't have my PT Supervisors number because they switched people around right before I left on vacation 2 weeks ago. I'm always early anyways so I'll talk to my FT Sup.

But should I still hand her a written letter too if its short notice like this?

brown_trousers