Racism at UPS?

Jhansen

I'm a cover driver at the UPS Hub in Memphis, and most of my supervisors are African American. I have no issues with racism, but I feel like because I'm white my supervisors choose other cover drivers(who are also African American) to work over me. Has anyone else experience this? any tips on how I should handle this?

stink219

File a complaint to HR. Get it on paper. Is it a seniority thing? Is it a knowledge thing? Are you being denied work all together?

UnconTROLLed

perfection
I say file on the seniority issue, if there is one. If everything is by seniority and you bottom the list, then there isn't much you can do regarding that.

OT a little, I have noticed a particular supervisor who speaks far more favorably towards minorites and women, than to anyone else. Their attitude and approach quickly changes depending on who they talk to. idiosyncratic and unprofessional, but yes it occurs.

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
Around here everyone gets treated like dirt, some just like to lick the boots of their abusive bosses, mainly the safety committee.

rocket man

I'm a cover driver at the UPS Hub in Memphis, and most of my supervisors are African American. I have no issues with racism, but I feel like because I'm white my supervisors choose other cover drivers(who are also African American) to work over me. Has anyone else experience this? any tips on how I should handle this?
I have not read anyones responce to this yet .But have you heard of a letter of concern to adress this? Have you heard of a shop rep getting to the bottom of this? Have you filed a grievance on seniority? You have a lot of options. TO bad you dont know the number to your union hall to adress this issue. You dont have the balls or guts to find out. BUT you have to post on this with this problem you dont deserve to do the route. i 100 pct DOUBT its a race issue

I would handle this with your shop steward and not on a message board. Get a clue

Dracula