Required to work Saturday?

iruhnman630

Last year, manager told us Tues-Sat folk that Monday was mandatory for peak. I went to HR and was told that they cannot force us to come in Monday.
I have another job so I was stressed about the situation.

So now, my building did same as you describe, handed out sheet on Wed. before Thanksgiving.
Not sure anymore what to do..no HR..and I dont trust our union to have teeth.View attachment 319208
This SatRuday was....interesting.

And yes, we all worked

WorknLateHuh

I've been driving for 15 years. Every year the push to work Saturdays gets worse. There is no specific language where i'm at for a 6th punch. Last year i simply didn't call or bother showing when forced and nothing came of it. This year the BA is telling us to call out. So it's like rolling the dice everytime you don't call out whether or not they pursue disciplining you.

We didn't sign up for Tues-Sat work. Really frustrating. Before you know it they will try to force random Saturdays during random times during the year.

Loxx

Part time preload in South CA local 396 and they're making us work Saturdays too. Pretty sure we can tell them no if so inclined, according to the Western Supplemental, Article 20, Section 3, part a.

But most people in the building don't know they have to post the schedule for the next week on the prior Friday even.

Cloud

I've been driving for 15 years. Every year the push to work Saturdays gets worse. There is no specific language where i'm at for a 6th punch. Last year i simply didn't call or bother showing when forced and nothing came of it. This year the BA is telling us to call out. So it's like rolling the dice everytime you don't call out whether or not they pursue disciplining you.

We didn't sign up for Tues-Sat work. Really frustrating. Before you know it they will try to force random Saturdays during random times during the year.