Revenue Recovery/ Any auditors here?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

JP, I am a FT driver and I have a suggestion which I think may increase employee participation in the revenue recovery program. I suggest that the employee who initiates a revenue recovery issue, whether it be a package, Call Tag or RS, which produces revenue for UPS be given a percentage of the revenue recovered. I am talking about Call Tags issued for 1 lb and the package weighs 50, or a shipper who does not apply dim wt to an obviously O/S pkg which weighs 5 lbs but should be O/S 1 or even O/S 2 (35 and 70 lbs, respectively) or for any of the other situations which may apply here. This money could either be added to the employee paycheck or to the Amex sales lead card and adjusted for taxes in the same manner as sales lead income is.

I will also be looking forward to your input here. Dave.

JP, I suggest that the employee who initiates a revenue recovery issue, be given a percentage of the revenue recovered

Funny you say that... We joke around about commission all the time.
Any type of commission will never happen for one reason, we make the company too much money. (And still get treated like outcasts... At least in my Hub) We work very closely with the finance department, so we're all on first a first name basis. The Laurel Mountain District Controller is up our butt all the time. It's money, money, money.

Between the auditors and the Dimensional Weight system, our hub recovers $100,000-$200,000 a month between all of the shifts. (It's insane)

When it comes to a lot of the issues, it's all politics. I can list handfuls of shippers who UPS knowingly lets 150+ pound packages in the system because they don't want to ship them freight. Instead of RTS'ing them, we just hit them with the bill and send them on their way. (I feel bad for the Metro drivers that have to deliver these things.)