Road Test in an automatic

Brown1234

So I am a new hire, and I took my road test the other day in an automatic. Before the test my manager had me sign a paper that says that by taking the test in an automatic I am only certified to drive automatics when I work (I'm a cover driver). Most of what I read before the test was that they usually give you the worst truck they have in a manual. I was surprised when he had me sign it before the test and take the test in an automatic. Is this a new thing?

Box Ox

Sounds super dumb. Stuff happens: trucks get red tagged or have to be swapped around. Maybe the only truck the PDS can find is an old loud as hell diesel manual that'll have everybody looking out their windows as you're still driving up and down their neighborhood streets at 2100.

So yeah, testing you in an old manual that can barely shift would be the best way to go. Because sometimes as a low seniority cover you've gotta take whatever route/truck falls in your lap.

But, we are also coming into negotiations for the 8-2018 Contract. Company might want to point to automatic-only drivers as leverage. Or they might simply be having such a hard time recruiting younger folks at some locations that they're dropping the requirement.

Maybe your location only has automatics.

brownIEman

There are some sites that no longer have manuals. I know of at least one Integrad location that swapped out all its manuals and only uses automatics now for the integration station training because some of the centers that feed into it have only automatics.