Sending people home

AZBrown

Teamster by choice
When my small center of about 45 preloaders is overstaffed, they send people home.
It's not a great amount, and it's only a couple of us unloading trailers, as were are not qualified to load cars.
They used to do this in seniority order, but now they have decided to (and this is a quote) "spread the love around" so everybody gets an equal chance to skip a day if they wish.
It was voluntary when it was done by seniority, and it still is, but it's just the rub of being there for years, and not being able to use your seniority for the little things.
I'm relatively new to this giant contract, as my previous employer's was 45 pages.
Is there something in the contract that says they must offer dismissal in seniority order?, cause I can't find it. If someone could point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated, as I'm lost here.

ChickenLegs

Safety Expert
Article 4 section 3 and 5 of your supplement. They should be asking people by seniority if they want a voluntary layoff, if no one accepts they should force from the bottom.

That being said, they can still violate the article and send you home first. Make sure you demand your daily guarantee, if they don't let you stay, file, go home and get paid.

SECTION 3 - RECOGNITION OF SENIORITY

The Employer recognizes that the principles of seniority shall be given prime consideration in the every day operation of the business.

SECTION 5 - LAYOFF AND RECALL

Layoffs and recalls shall be in seniority order in accordance with each respective area or local Addendum or Rider.

Last edited:
Tell the sup when you get there that if the opportunity arises to get the night off you as a senior employee would like to go.

AZBrown

Teamster by choice
Yeah, they're trying not to lay anybody off, cause most of the time everybody is needed.
People getting sent home only happens twice a week on average

fres431