Seniority and bumping as a Swing Driver

8000Shelf

I'm a swing driver that is occasionally not scheduled to work but l have seniority on most the swing drivers scheduled. I also typically have area knowlege on many of the routes that are in.
What are my rights as far as bumping on?

I'm currently told by my mgmt l have to bump to the very bottom guy working (most likely meaning l run the route blind) or go home.
I can't find any specific language in the contract to address this situation

scooby0048

This page left intentionally blank
I'm currently told by my mgmt l have to bump to the very bottom guy working (most likely meaning l run the route blind) or go home.
I can't find any specific language in the contract to address this situation
So what's the problem? You have the right to bump even if it means running a route blind. If you really wanted to work, it sounds like it is there for you and you would not have to go home.

MC4YOU2

Wherever I see Trump, it smells like he's Putin.
In my old center, it was common among the cover drivers, to bump anyone with less seniority, that wasn't a bid driver. It's called "preferential work assignment." The only caveat is, you can't bump someone without area knowledge onto whatever route you're bumping off of to trade.

You'd need to check with your steward or BA just to be sure it applies the same way in your area though.

scooby0048

@8000Shelf, I don't quite get the optimistic rating as I'm not the one getting laid off hoping to work. You said you occasionally are not scheduled to work but you are senior to other drivers. The work is there if you want it even if it means going out blind. Whats the problem? There should be no reason why you are laid off unless you choose to accept it.

What's the real question then?

8000Shelf