Sent home early

DaNewGuy

Hi,
Been doing loading for a month now and like the job. Today, after working only 2 1/2 hours was sent home because there wasn't any work. A slow day. Should I be getting paid for 3 1/2 hours? I'm new at this and willing to work hard but don't want to be taken advantage of either.

542thruNthru

Hi,
Been doing loading for a month now and like the job. Today, after working only 2 1/2 hours was sent home because there wasn't any work. A slow day. Should I be getting paid for 3 1/2 hours? I'm new at this and willing to work hard but don't want to be taken advantage of either.
Have you passed your probation period?

542thruNthru

You're under 30 working days. So I'd just keep my mouth shut till I pass probation. After that then when they try to send you home demand your 3 1/2 guarantee. If they still say you have to go ask for a steward to confirm that you requested your 3 1/2.

542thruNthru

Ok. Thank you. I don’t want to cause any trouble. I like the job. Probation isn’t 30 calendar days? It’s 30 days clocked in?
Do you know what local union you are? Some areas and 30 working days and some are 70. Depends on your supplemental agreement.

You should also find out who your steward is and ask for a contract book. Don't ask your sup, ask a coworker.

542thruNthru

Oh local 25 hu. So you're in the New England Supplement.
sketch-1627418717337.jpg

Also being that your local 25 I'm sure you're going to be voting Teamster Power Slate come October. ;)
Vairma_Teamster-Logo-V2_FINAL2-1.png

Ain't that right @opie :)

PT 4 Life

Most-Hated Member
It’s like @542thruNthru said just keep your head down and do your work. They can fire you pretty much for anything during probation period.you’re guaranteed three hours though.

Ups not easy but stay with it. It’s worth it.

MECH-lift

Union Brother ✊🧔 RPCD
Hi,
You don’t have enough seniority to fart inside the building I suggest you just go home until you have some time in young man.
🧔✊

J.D. Hogg