So I got this life insurance

Cincypackagehandler

I bought this life Insurance that costs 97 bucks a month and it covers all the basics but it has this cash value amount of 100 K and the guy said after 2 years I can just take as much of that out as I want? I'm only 24 years old, I've been working at UPS for almost 5 years and I have a 401K and I have some sense on how to save for retirement. Is their a catch to this life insurance policy I got? So in two years I can just have access to 100 K without paying it back and it'll just lessen the value of my life insurance if I die? Someone please explain this to me please..

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

You have 3 days to cancel this transaction. I strongly urge you to do so. Life insurance with a cash value is a rip off, especially for someone as young as you are.

Look in to a term policy. At your age you should be able to get a $500K 30 year term policy for around $20-30/month. This will cover you while you are working which is really the only time that you will need life insurance.

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
I'd also like to add if you're 24, single, and no kids there really is no reason to carry life insurance, besides to bury you. This is assuming the aforementioned is accurate about your life.

ajax25