Struggling new driver looking for advice

NewGuy71

I am a new driver hired on a few weeks ago, went to driver school, rode with a ORS for a few days and now on my own. I am struggling with being over allowed time by about 2 hours per day after 5 days solo.

Route has been around 90 stops, (supposed to be 7 hours) 35-40 commercial with stores like Walmart, Target, Lowes, Party City, etc. These stops generally have 15-50 packages each. The high was 78 packages for one stop yesterday. The rest are typical residential. I know the area well, have driven the route the last two weekends in my car to perfect my knowledge of it, and am working as hard and fast as I can. I have been coming in an hour early to go through the load but I am still struggling. I have the in and out of car methods down pretty well but still improving. Can anyone give me some advice on how to get faster?

Thank you!

scooby0048

This page left intentionally blank
I am a new driver hired on a few weeks ago, went to driver school, rode with a ORS for a few days and now on my own. I am struggling with being over allowed time by about 2 hours per day after 5 days solo.

Route has been around 90 stops, (supposed to be 7 hours) 35-40 commercial with stores like Walmart, Target, Lowes, Party City, etc. These stops generally have 15-50 packages each. The high was 78 packages for one stop yesterday. The rest are typical residential. I know the area well, have driven the route the last two weekends in my car to perfect my knowledge of it, and am working as hard and fast as I can. I have been coming in an hour early to go through the load but I am still struggling. I have the in and out of car methods down pretty well but still improving. Can anyone give me some advice on how to get faster?

Thank you!