T L A

DOWNTRODDEN IN TEXAS

Ok..in my 15 years I have NEVER had a TLA session...ever. All of a sudden, we have a TLA handout. Well, my question is this...if I don't respond, and we all know how I, a Fred-fearing-hoping-I-still-have-a-job-afterward-due-to-contrary-beliefs employee, would definitely L U V to answer, I don't want the target on my back.

Any thoughts?

DS

Fenderbender
I'm a ups driver,so I'm not sure if TLA means the same thing.
Talk Listen Act?
It's supposed to be a GOOD thing.They have a talk,over lunch or a coffee,listen to hear your concerns,and act to make your job easier.

MrFedEx

Engorged Member
Ok..in my 15 years I have NEVER had a TLA session...ever. All of a sudden, we have a TLA handout. Well, my question is this...if I don't respond, and we all know how I, a Fred-fearing-hoping-I-still-have-a-job-afterward-due-to-contrary-beliefs employee, would definitely L U V to answer, I don't want the target on my back.

Any thoughts?

We have TLA's several times a year. In fact, I believe that our MD requires managers to do it in order to "understand" the hourlies better. This is a complete waste of time because FedEx is directed from the top-down, much as the Vatican directs each Catholic diocese on what it should do. More show and no go due to the fact that nothing substantial is going to be changed by the conversation.

MrFedEx

Engorged Member
I'm a ups driver,so I'm not sure if TLA means the same thing.
Talk Listen Act?
It's supposed to be a GOOD thing.They have a talk,over lunch or a coffee,listen to hear your concerns,and act to make your job easier.

"Talk, Listen, Action", so it's pretty much the same idea. Problem is, that it's absolutely meaningless because management doesn't fulfill the "action" part of the acronym.

rod

Retired 22 years