Teamster 401K Packet

RangerRock

Ok so I was hired as a seasonal driver for UPS. I checked my mailbox today as I was out of town for the weekend and I got a 401k Packet from Teamster. Now this makes no sense to me as I am only a seasonal driver and seems to be a waste of time/money on part of UPS or whatever to send it to me considering I only have 2 weeks max left to work.

ManInBrown

They send it to all the seasonals, regardless of being hired permanent or not

There is nothing ups likes more, than wasting time and money

GL

P

pickup

Ah thanks for clarifying!
By the time you are notified and made aware of opting out, you're already opted in and your paycheck this week will probably have 2 percent (or 3 percent if we go by upstate's post). You then will try to opt out and will be informed by the rep over the phone or your computer that the change will take up to 10 business days to process. So you will probably end up with 2 or 3 paychecks having that bite in them.

And then when you leave the company , you will then receive a letter from the 401 fund that you need to rollover the little money you have in the fund to another 401k fund or take a check .If you take the check(which is the default option if you don't take action by a certain time), you will then have to pay a 10 percent penalty in addition to the taxes on the money in the check.

Yep, that's the way it usually goes, from what I heard.

DriveInDriveOut

Inordinately Right
I was automatically enrolled when I went FT.
Pissed me off.
I already have a 401k, I didn't sign up for that crap.
Got online and changed the contribution to 0.

Kind of ridiculous that they enroll people without their knowledge.
This crap shouldn't be legal.

Matty_lawn

Poopin' on the clock
Must be different for part time I actually had to call and enroll. Been on the payroll since July and I just called and signed up a few weeks ago. 15 percent right now but ill max it out once my initiation fees are finished.

Rack em